Obion County Board of Education
April 10, 2017

Agenda Item: VIII.D.

Consider/Approve Teachers Recommended for Tenure

Background Information:

The granting of tenure is one of the most important decisions boards of education make. TCA §49-2-301(b)(1)(J) provides, “it is the duty of the board of education to assign to its director of schools the duty to recommend to the board of education teachers who are eligible for tenure or notify such teachers of their failure of reelection….”

The following teachers did receive a recommendation for tenure by their respective principal and instructional supervisor:

Black Oak Elementary – Brandy Ray, Kristen Yates
Hillcrest Elementary – Mason Storey
Lake Road Elementary – Russ Brown, Kristen Kendall, Brittany Simmons
Obion County Central High – None
Ridgemont Elementary – Debbie Capps, Jenny Crittendon, Jan McGregor, James Wooten
South Fulton Elementary – Destiny Rhodes, Ashley Wilbanks
South Fulton Middle/High – Monty Breneman, Dawn Robertson, Jason Rodehaver, Jessica Winstead

In accordance with TCA §49-2-203(1) and Board Policy #5.117, the decision to grant tenure is solely within the discretion of the Board of Education.

Staff Recommendation:

I agree with the recommendations of the principals and instructional supervisors and recommend the above noted teachers for tenure pending the receipt of required teacher evaluation scores from the State (4 or 5).