Obion County Board of Education
September 8, 2009

Agenda Item: VIII.A.

Appointment/Confirmation of Members to the Ethics Committee

Preliminary Matters:

On July 7, 2008, the Board read and approved adoption of the Code of Ethics for the Obion County School System. Subsequently, the Code of Ethics was adopted in Policy form. Section 5 requires the Chairman of the Board to appoint, with confirmation by the Board, three (3) members to serve one-year terms on the Ethics Committee. At least two (2) of the members must be Board members. Currently serving via appointment and confirmation are Mr. Jimmy Smith (no appointment was made upon his resignation), Ms. Diane Sanderson, and Ms. Nancy Hamilton. The Committee is required to convene as soon as practicable to elect a chair and a secretary.

Staff Recommendation:

No recommendation necessary.